Recreational Saltwater Fishing License
You do not need a license if you are:
Any child under 16 years of age.
Any resident who is a member of the United States Armed
Forces and not stationed in this state, when home on leave
for 30 days or less, upon submission of orders.
Any person fishing who has been accepted as a client for
developmental disabilities services by the Children and
Family Services, provided the department furnishes proof
Any resident fishing in saltwater from land or from a structure
fixed to the land.
Any person fishing from a for-hire vessel (guide, charter,
party boat) that has a valid vessel license.
Any person fishing from a vessel, the operator of which
has a valid vessel license issued in the name of the operator
of the vessel.
Any person who holds a valid saltwater products license
Any person fishing for recreational purposes from a pier
that has been issued a valid pier saltwater fishing license.
Any resident fishing for a saltwater species in fresh water
from land or from a structure fixed to land.
Any resident fishing for mullet in fresh water who has a
valid Florida freshwater fishing license.
Any resident 65 years of age or older who has in her or
his possession proof of age and residency. A no-cost
license under this paragraph may be obtained from any tax
collector's office upon proof of age and residency and must
be in the possession of the resident during hunting, freshwater
fishing, and saltwater fishing activities.
Any employee of the commission who takes freshwater fish,
saltwater fish, or game as part of employment with the commission,
or any other person authorized by commission permit to take
freshwater fish, saltwater fish, or game for scientific
or educational purposes.
Provides info on who needs a fishing license to fish for
freshwater fish in Florida and how to get one instantly,
from the Division of Fisheries, Florida Fish and Wildlife
Conservation Commission License fees are set by the Florida
Legislature for hunting and fishing (both freshwater and
saltwater) and are ensure the future of fishing in Florida
and is encouraged.
Who sets license fees? License fees are set by the
Florida Legislature for hunting and fishing (both freshwater
and saltwater) and are subject to change, along with stipulations
on exemptions. In addition to the cost of a license or permit
given in this section, an issuance fee of $0.50 may be charged
by the subagent selling the license or permit.
• Fishing the Chum Slicks